Dove Missed the Point

Dove Real Beauty Sketches were supposed to be this awesome feminist campaign telling every woman that she is beautiful. But it misses the point of being feminist, being free from needing to be beautiful, knowing that who you are is more important than what you look like. This Advert would feel at home in the 1950 where ads regularly sexualised and objectified powerless women. “Dove makes me realize I’m beautiful so now my husband doesn’t have to tell me.” you get my drift?

Leave a Reply

